Little Falls Historical Society Museum
  • HOME
  • BECOME A MEMBER
  • WRITING SERIES
  • CONTACT US
  • NEWS
    • Mat Rapacz Archives
  • EXHIBITS
    • VIRTUAL EXHIBITS
    • CURRENT EXHIBITS
    • ONGOING EXHIBITS
  • EXPERIENCE LITTLE FALLS HISTORY & HISTORIC ENTRY
    • Audio Tours
    • Historic Homes and Places in Little Falls
  • BOOKS AVAILABLE
  • SUNY ONEONTA’S COOPERSTOWN Graduate Program | Museum Studies
  • HISTORY SUPER SLEUTH
  • FOR THE HISTORIAN
    • Pre-human History – 1500
    • 1490 – 1650
    • 1651 – 1790
    • 1791 – 1870
    • MAKING HISTORY TODAY
      • Student Edition
  • ABOUT US
    • ANNUAL REPORTS
    • Privacy Policy
  • OUR SPONSORS
  • Menu Menu
  • Link to Facebook
  • Link to Instagram
  • Link to Mail

Little Falls, NY

  • This day in history: August 10

    1755

    A letter from William Shirley, Governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, directed Captain Marcus Petri to proceed from the little falls to the “Canoeing Place” from the Mohawk River to the Wood Creek. Petri was to defend the area from incursion of French & Indian forces.

    1876

    Six hundred people left Little Falls and Valley towns, by train, on a grand excursion to the Thousand Islands under the auspices of the Gen. Z. C. Priest Steamer Co. Upon arrival in Clayton, the party will leave immediately on the splendid new steamer, “T. S. Faxion” which has been specially chartered for the excursion on the St. Lawrence River.

    1933

    The whole town seemed congregated on Ann Street in front of the Rialto Theater, anxious to find out who would be the winner of a new automobile given away by local merchants. Mayor Santry, master of ceremonies, presented the auto to Elizabeth Kling of West Main Street.

    1996

    During the annual Canal Days celebration, an estimated 1,500 people toured the newly rebuilt and renovated Benton Hall Academy. A large number of them were former students and senior citizens. They were impressed by its architectural beauty and sensed its historical significance.

  • Many thanks to Louie Baum for his research for This Day in History.

    ALL EXHIBITS

    • 1912 Little Falls Textile Strike
    • 1940 Gulf Curve Train Wreck
    • 240th Anniversary of the Battles of Stone Arabia and Klock’s Field
    • Athletics Wing Collection
    • Battle of West Canada Creek
    • Camp Jolly Exhibit
    • Church Street Cemetery Tour
    • City Hall – A History
    • Distant Drums – Little Falls during the Civil War Era
    • Early Base Ball in Little Falls
    • Early Little Falls Buildings and Organizations
    • First U.S. Cheese Market Exhibit
    • Frog Fountain
    • Herkimer County Bank
    • Little Falls African American History
    • Little Falls Diamonds Collection
    • Little Falls Music Exhibit
    • Little Falls Waterways
    • Little Falls and Women’s Suffrage
    • Making History Today
    • Making History Today Student Edition
    • Massacre at the Little Falls Grist Mill
    • Myjava, Slovakia, Sister City of Little Falls
    • Native American Exhibit
    • Prohibition Exhibit
    • Rockton Exhibit
    • Urban Renewal Exhibit
    • Vietnam War Exhibit
    • World War II and Korean Conflict Exhibit

    MAY 18, 2024 PATRIOTS DAY EVENT AT 1824 BELLINGER HOME

    2024 PATRIOTS DAY EVENT AT 1824 BELLINGER HOME

    PATRIOTS DAY AT 1824 BELLINGER HOME

    May 18, 2024 at 11:00 a.m.

    The rain date for this event is Sunday May 19 at 11:00 AM.

    Patriots Day is celebrated each year in most of New England to commemorate the April 15, 1775 Battles of Lexington and Concord which marked the beginning of the Revolutionary War.

    The first Patriots Day was declared in 1894. In 1938 the Commonwealth of Massachusetts established the third Monday in April each year as Patriots Day and it has become a civic holiday. Lexington and Concord have battle re-enactments and the City of Boston swells with activity and celebration.

    At the urging of the Little Falls Historical Society, the City of Little Falls established a local Patriots Day in 2010 to be celebrated each year on the third Saturday in May. This is in recognition of our ancestors’ contributions to America’s quest for independence.

    Each year, the Little Falls Historical Society honors Patriots Day by hosting an event at a local historical site that played an important role in our colonial and Revolutionary War eras. We have commemorated Patriots Day at Yellow Church Cemetery, Herkimer Home, Fort Herkimer Church,Indian Castle Church, Snells Bush Church, Little Falls Masonic Temple, Historic Dutch Reformed Church at Historic Four Corners in Herkimer, Historic Trinity in Fairfield, Paines Hollow Church, Emmanuel Episcopal Church in Little Falls, Norway Rural Cemetery and last year’s return at Yellow Church Cemetery.

    PROGRAM

    INTRODUCTION / OPENING REMARKS
    Michelle Baum

    PREAMBLE TO U.S. CONSTITUTION
    Pat Frezza-Gressler

    HISTORY OF THE JOHN BELLINGER HOUSE
    Tom Overman

    1824 LITTLE FALLS RETROSPECTIVE
    Louis Baum

    PETRIE FAMILY IN EARLY LOCAL HISTORY
    Nicholas Petrie

    BATTLE OF ORISKANY – THOMAS VAN HORN
    Pat Stock

    HERKIMER, ORISKANY, SARATOGA AND FRANCE
    Jeff
    rey Gressler

    CLOSING REMARKS
    Jeffrey Gressler

    LAYING OF WREATH
    Pat Stock – Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)

    PLAYING OF “TAPS”
    Dr.Oscar Stivala

    MUSICAL SELECTIONS
    Robert
    Schmelcher

    Please bring your own chairs. Free water will be provided.

    JOHN BELLINGER 1824 HOME

    John Bellinger purchased this property in 1820, his wife was Anne Zimmerman. The Federal style building was completed in 1824 using nearby quarried limestone. The walls are 30” thick in the basement and 24” thick at the roof level. The interior is post and beam construction using six hand-hewn beams.

    The Bellinger family sold the building and grounds to the Simms family around 1880 who in turn sold it to the O’Hara family who owned it until the early 1950s. The home underwent substantial renovation around 1930, but in the late-1940s, the building was abandoned and fell into disrepair.

    The Weaver family worked to stabilize some stonework in the 1980s, and in 2000, the Straney / Neesom family carried out much interior repair work.

    The McGillan / Overman family purchased the property in 2011 and began extensive final-stage restoration in 2014, repointing stonework, upgrading the plumbing and electrical systems, and insulating the building for the first time. Tom and Mary Ellen were able to move into their historic home in 2019.

    Explore our history

    • The Privy and the Pear Tree: Unearthing Little Falls History in Your Own BackyardJuly 15, 2026 - 2:42 pm
    • Francis Skinner Municipal PoolFrancis Skinner Municipal Pool
      More than 150 Donors Help Reopen Francis Skinner Municipal PoolJuly 1, 2026 - 5:00 pm
    • COMMITTEE OF FIVE PRESENTING THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE TO CONGRESS IN 1776.
      THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE 1776 – 2026June 26, 2026 - 8:01 am
    • Little Falls Historical Society Membership PicnicJune 5, 2026 - 1:51 pm
    • Charles P Colby
      A Capacity For AchievementMay 7, 2026 - 7:35 am
    • Fort Herkimer Church
      Patriots Day Event Saturday, May 16, at the Fort Herkimer ChurchMay 5, 2026 - 8:55 am

    Explore the history of the Mohawk Valley

    Visit MohawkValleyMuseums.us

    Museum Exhibits

    • Little Falls and Women's Suffrage
      Little Falls and Women’s Suffragein: Current Exhibits
    • Rockton Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Rockton Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Camp Jolly Little Falls Historical Society Museum
      Camp Jolly Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Prohibition Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Prohibition Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Athletics Wing | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Athletics Wing Collectionin: Current Exhibits, Ongoing Exhibits
    • 1940 train wreck | Little Falls Historical Society Museum
      1940 Gulf Curve Train Wreckin: Ongoing Exhibits, Past Exhibits
    • Native American Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      Native American Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Little Falls Diamonds Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      Little Falls Diamonds Collectionin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • World War II Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      World War II and Korean Conflict Exhibitin: Past Exhibits
    • Little Falls Cheese Market | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      First U.S. Cheese Market Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Myjava, Slovakia Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Little Falls Waterwaysin: Past Exhibits

    Explore events happening in the Mohawk Valley

    See what's happening on MohawkValley.Today

    OLD BANK BUILDING MUSEUM HOURS

    By appointment only after October 4, 2025 until May 2026.
    SPECIAL DATES:
    OPEN SATURDAY, OCTOBER 11, 9-2
    OPEN FOR CHRISTMAS IN LITTLE FALLS ON SATURDAY, DECEMBER 13TH

    Explore the history of the Mohawk Valley

    Visit MohawkValleyMuseums.us
    © Copyright Little Falls Historical Society Museum in New York. All rights reserved. Design by MohawkValley.today
    • Link to Facebook
    • Link to Instagram
    • Link to Mail
    • Home
    • Exhibits
    • Historical Tours
    • Making History Today
    • News
    • Membership
    • About
    • Annual Report
    • Our Sponsors
    Link to: From the Cooney Archives: This Day in History on May 2, 1897 Link to: From the Cooney Archives: This Day in History on May 2, 1897 From the Cooney Archives: This Day in History on May 2, 1897Thomas Burh Home | The Knights of Columbus | 690 East Main Street, Little Falls, New York. Link to: The Pride of Little Falls Link to: The Pride of Little Falls Milan MosnyThe Pride of Little Falls
    Scroll to top Scroll to top Scroll to top