Little Falls Historical Society Museum
  • HOME
  • BECOME A MEMBER
  • WRITING SERIES
  • CONTACT US
  • NEWS
    • Mat Rapacz Archives
  • EXHIBITS
    • CURRENT EXHIBITS
    • VIRTUAL EXHIBITS
    • ONGOING EXHIBITS
  • EXPERIENCE LITTLE FALLS HISTORY & HISTORIC ENTRY
    • Audio Tours
    • Echoes of Legacy
    • Historic Homes and Places in Little Falls
  • BOOKS AVAILABLE
  • SUNY ONEONTA’S COOPERSTOWN Graduate Program | Museum Studies
  • HISTORY SUPER SLEUTH
  • FOR THE HISTORIAN
    • Pre-human History – 1500
    • 1490 – 1650
    • 1651 – 1790
    • 1791 – 1870
    • MAKING HISTORY TODAY
      • Student Edition
  • ABOUT US
    • ANNUAL REPORTS
    • Privacy Policy
  • OUR SPONSORS
  • Menu Menu
  • Link to Facebook
  • Link to Instagram
  • Link to Mail

Little Falls, NY

  • This day in history: September 15

    1821

    The first newspaper published in Little Falls, the “People’s Friend”, by Edward Griffing, was printed in Mechanic’s Hall on Main Street, and later at the brick house on Garden Street at the head of Mary Street.

    1843

    The boat “The Champion” left her dock at Little Falls for Troy with a mammoth load: 1944 boxes of cheese, 43 cases of cheese, 3 boxes of woolens, and 1 box of leather. The cargo weighed 150,561 pounds and the toll was $56.50.

    1885

    One of the oldest and most honored citizens of Little Falls, Judge Arphaxed Loomis, passed away. Born in 1798 in Connecticut, he moved to to Salisbury as a young boy in 1803. Long prominent in local affairs, he ranked among the foremost men in the State, and was an acknowledged leader in shaping its course as the Empire State. Arphaxed Loomis, is remembered most for his successful efforts in forcing the Ellice Estate to sell their holdings in Little Falls. He was village president (1831-1836,) County Judge, member of the NYS Assembly, and member of Congress. He built his home at 676 East Main Street in 1832.

    1901

    A memorial service for all churches in the city was held for President William McKinley at the Skinner Opera House. McKinley had been assassinated nine days earlier in Buffalo, New York.

    1982

    New officers were installed for the Little Falls Bocce League. Charlie Raiello, Ugo Taverni, and John Casullo took over the reins from Lou Colangelo and Paul Terenzetti.  The local bocce ball courts are located at the Veterans Memorial Park complex.

    2010

    A flotilla enroute to Rochester for the 2010 World Canals Conference stopped in Little Falls today. The flotilla is made up of pleasure and tour boats, as well as several historic and operational vessels from the New York State Canal Corporation.

  • Many thanks to Louie Baum for his research for This Day in History.

    ALL EXHIBITS

    • 1912 Little Falls Textile Strike
    • 1940 Gulf Curve Train Wreck
    • 240th Anniversary of the Battles of Stone Arabia and Klock’s Field
    • Athletics Wing Collection
    • Battle of West Canada Creek
    • Camp Jolly Exhibit
    • Church Street Cemetery Tour
    • City Hall – A History
    • Distant Drums – Little Falls during the Civil War Era
    • Early Base Ball in Little Falls
    • Early Little Falls Buildings and Organizations
    • First U.S. Cheese Market Exhibit
    • Frog Fountain
    • Herkimer County Bank
    • Little Falls African American History
    • Little Falls Diamonds Collection
    • Little Falls Music Exhibit
    • Little Falls Waterways
    • Little Falls and Women’s Suffrage
    • Making History Today
    • Making History Today Student Edition
    • Massacre at the Little Falls Grist Mill
    • Myjava, Slovakia, Sister City of Little Falls
    • Native American Exhibit
    • Prohibition Exhibit
    • Rockton Exhibit
    • Urban Renewal Exhibit
    • Vietnam War Exhibit
    • World War II and Korean Conflict Exhibit
    Little Falls Historical Society Museum

    This day in history: June 24

    June 24, 2035/by Little Falls Historical Society Museum
    #_LOCATIONMAP

    Date/Time
    Date(s) - 24/06/2035
    12:00 am - 11:59 pm

    Categories

    • This day in history


    1881

    The recently condemned Catholic church on Petrie Street is being torn down by Thomas Dale & Sons for $4,525. The material was then used by the Dale Bros. for the construction of three beautiful brick residences along the corner of Alexander and Petrie Streets.

    1898

    Charles King’s Saxony Mills in Little Falls turned out high quality and high priced underwear, however the recent business recession led people to a cheaper grade of garments. King has been forced to close his mills and the business has been forced into receivership by his creditors.

    1902

    The building occupied by police and fire headquarters, corner of Second and Albany streets, was sold at mortgage foreclosure by Deputy Sheriff Kelley. This was the property on which Hadley Jones placed several mortgages which were of doubtful character. The property was sold for $9,878.

    1917

    The “Bird Women,” Katherine Stinson, became the first female to fly over Little Falls. Six years prior, the first man, Harry Atwood, passed over the city.

    1923

    It was announced that Mrs. D. H. Burrell, Sr. was planning the erection of a home for nurses on Whited Street. Mrs. Burrell passed away in 1924 before the nurses’ residence was completed.

    1927

    A formal presentation of the Carnegie Hero Medal was made to a young Slovak girl, 11 year- old Susie Mizerak, at a large dinner sponsored by the Exchange Club. She had jumped into the canal to rescue a 4–year boy; “caught hold of his clothing” and swam 22 feet to the ladder in the wall, and waited for help to arrive.

    1932

    A carload of flour, which will be given away free to needy families, has arrived in the city. The flour, made from government owned wheat, was obtained through the national Red Cross, and will be distributed this evening at 7 o’clock.

    1961

    One of the most memorable events of Little Falls Sesquicentennial Year transpired with the opening of the city’s new distribution reservoir, on Top Notch Road, which was dedicated to long-time resident and public servant George W. Boyle.

     

    Share this entry
    • Share on Facebook
    • Share on X
    • Share on WhatsApp
    • Share on Pinterest
    • Share on LinkedIn
    • Share on Tumblr
    • Share on Vk
    • Share on Reddit
    • Share by Mail
    http://littlefallshistoricalsociety.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Little-Falls-Historical-Society-Museum.png 0 0 Little Falls Historical Society Museum http://littlefallshistoricalsociety.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Little-Falls-Historical-Society-Museum.png Little Falls Historical Society Museum2021-05-04 13:51:162025-07-17 15:47:11This day in history: June 24

    Explore our history

    • The Privy and the Pear Tree: Unearthing Little Falls History in Your Own BackyardJuly 15, 2026 - 2:42 pm
    • Francis Skinner Municipal PoolFrancis Skinner Municipal Pool
      More than 150 Donors Help Reopen Francis Skinner Municipal PoolJuly 1, 2026 - 5:00 pm
    • COMMITTEE OF FIVE PRESENTING THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE TO CONGRESS IN 1776.
      THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE 1776 – 2026June 26, 2026 - 8:01 am
    • Little Falls Historical Society Membership PicnicJune 5, 2026 - 1:51 pm
    • Charles P Colby
      A Capacity For AchievementMay 7, 2026 - 7:35 am
    • Fort Herkimer Church
      Patriots Day Event Saturday, May 16, at the Fort Herkimer ChurchMay 5, 2026 - 8:55 am

    Explore the history of the Mohawk Valley

    Visit MohawkValleyMuseums.us

    Museum Exhibits

    • Little Falls and Women's Suffrage
      Little Falls and Women’s Suffragein: Current Exhibits
    • Rockton Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Rockton Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Camp Jolly Little Falls Historical Society Museum
      Camp Jolly Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Prohibition Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Prohibition Exhibitin: Current Exhibits
    • Athletics Wing | Little Falls Historical Society | Little Falls, NY
      Athletics Wing Collectionin: Current Exhibits, Ongoing Exhibits
    • 1940 train wreck | Little Falls Historical Society Museum
      1940 Gulf Curve Train Wreckin: Ongoing Exhibits, Past Exhibits
    • Native American Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      Native American Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Little Falls Diamonds Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      Little Falls Diamonds Collectionin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • World War II Exhibit | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      World War II and Korean Conflict Exhibitin: Past Exhibits
    • Little Falls Cheese Market | Little Falls Historical Society Museum | Little Falls NY
      First U.S. Cheese Market Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Myjava, Slovakia Exhibitin: Ongoing Exhibits
    • Little Falls Waterwaysin: Past Exhibits

    Explore events happening in the Mohawk Valley

    See what's happening on MohawkValley.Today

    OLD BANK BUILDING MUSEUM HOURS

    By appointment only after October 4, 2025 until May 2026.
    SPECIAL DATES:
    OPEN SATURDAY, OCTOBER 11, 9-2
    OPEN FOR CHRISTMAS IN LITTLE FALLS ON SATURDAY, DECEMBER 13TH

    Explore the history of the Mohawk Valley

    Visit MohawkValleyMuseums.us
    © Copyright Little Falls Historical Society Museum in New York. All rights reserved. Design by MohawkValley.today
    • Link to Facebook
    • Link to Instagram
    • Link to Mail
    • Home
    • Exhibits
    • Historical Tours
    • Making History Today
    • News
    • Membership
    • About
    • Annual Report
    • Our Sponsors
    Link to: This day in history: June 24 Link to: This day in history: June 24 This day in history: June 24 Link to: This day in history: June 25 Link to: This day in history: June 25 This day in history: June 25
    Scroll to top Scroll to top Scroll to top